Are you 21 or older?

Afterlo is for adults 21+. We publish articles and recipes about THC and mushrooms.

No, leave site

Your confirmation stays in this browser for up to 30 days. Privacy

How much mushroom is in a gummy serving?

Read piece count, blend weight and individual ingredient amounts without dividing a proprietary blend into invented equal shares.

Journal date

Orange sugar-coated gumdrop cubes beside an open glass jar.
Ordinary gumdrops, shown as format context.

Count the serving before the mushrooms

A mushroom blend figure usually needs two more details: what serving it describes and which ingredients it includes. Two gummies may be the labeled serving, and the printed milligrams may belong to the whole blend. Those details do not reveal each mushroom's amount. Counting the names and dividing the total equally would invent a formula the label has not supplied.

Do not assume that one gummy means one serving. The manufacturer needs to define the serving on the actual version you are reading. Keep the piece count and any mass figure together, including the unit. A gummy's total weight is not automatically the weight of its mushroom ingredients.

FDA's supplement-labeling guide distinguishes Supplement Facts from Nutrition Facts and describes the presentation of dietary ingredients and servings. Start with the panel actually used by the product. A gummy sold as a conventional food needs its own reading; the broad format name does not establish that every mushroom gummy is a dietary supplement. FDA: supplement-labeling guide, chapter IV

Does the number describe the whole blend or one ingredient?

What the blend total leaves out

Under the relevant US proprietary-blend provisions, certain dietary ingredients may be declared with a combined weight and listed beneath the blend in descending order by weight. That presentation does not disclose an individual weight for every mushroom. It also does not establish that the mushrooms contribute equally. 21 CFR 101.36: supplement amounts and blends

Consider an invented panel listing a 500 mg blend per two-gummy serving. If the blend names lion's mane, reishi and cordyceps, the panel has not declared 500 mg of each. Nor has it declared roughly 167 mg of each. Many ingredient combinations can total 500 mg. The serving declaration also does not authenticate uniform distribution in each individual piece.

Dividing the blend total by the number of mushroom names would not reveal the recipe. Several different combinations can produce the same total. Unless individual amounts are provided, leave them undisclosed. A blank in a comparison table accurately records missing information; filling it with an equal share would invent an ingredient claim.

Which material the number describes

If an ingredient is described as an extract, keep that description beside its amount. Do the same for a powder or another preparation. A milligram figure detached from its ingredient can make different materials look directly equivalent. The unit tells you the kind of measurement, while the preparation tells you more about what was measured.

The edible-fungi review describes variation between materials. Equal weights therefore need ingredient and preparation descriptions before they can support a meaningful research comparison. Berger et al. (2022): mycelium and fruiting bodies

The same principle applies to a reported constituent percentage. Check whether it concerns the extract, the blend or the whole product, and whether a testing method is identified. A percentage attached to the wrong base can produce a misleading calculation even when the arithmetic is correct. Keep the original statement when its basis is unclear.

For a separate invented calculation, 20 percent of a 100 mg extract is 20 mg of the named measured constituent, provided that is the report's stated basis. It is not 20 percent of the gummy's total food weight. The distinction between powder, extract and beta-glucan helps explain why the base and method must travel with that percentage. This calculation is not a consumption instruction.

Lining up two products

For two gummy products, line up the serving descriptions first. Then compare named fungi, preparations and individually disclosed or combined amounts. Keep the rest of the formulation in view too. A product with more mushroom names is not automatically better explained than one that supplies fewer names but clearer quantities.

NIH's Office of Dietary Supplements distinguishes information about quality and contents from evidence of effectiveness. A more detailed panel can make a formulation easier to understand without proving that it produces a desired outcome. Keep any promise about focus, sleep or immunity attached to its own evidence instead of treating disclosure detail as a clinical result. NIH ODS: dietary supplement guidance

For research, put the mushroom gummy's study next to its serving declaration. If the paper tested one defined ingredient and the pack gives only a multi-ingredient blend total, the missing share remains missing. Adding more citations does not disclose it. You need the maker's actual formula information before deciding whether the test material and labeled preparation can be compared.

Undisclosed does not mean zero

Save the exact product name, flavor, panel and date with the figures you use. Where a page offers several sizes or formulas, retain the selected version. A product-family photograph may not establish which serving description applies. That is a specific question for the maker, rather than a detail to reconstruct from a different product listing.

When an individual mushroom amount is missing, write undisclosed instead of zero or an equal share. Those three entries mean different things. That difference becomes particularly important if you later compare a lion's mane gummy with a study: the research quantity cannot be matched to a lion's mane amount that the product information never gave you.

Sources & review

Invented figures explain blend and serving limits. Individual ingredient shares and uniformity within pieces are not inferred from totals.

Sources checked .

About our editorial standards

Product guides and recipes,
by email.

New THC product guides, functional mushroom articles and recipes for adults 21+.

Read the blog